The Holy mountain of Athos-ATHWOS-HAGION HOROS-Света Гора

Монасите от Света Гора вече имат достъп до интернет, след като гръцката телекомуникационна компания ОТЕ пусна Wi-max мрежата. Пилотният проект на ОТЕ е изграден върху изключително тежък и практически недостъпен терен, където няма добра пътна инфраструктура и ток. Поради тази причина телекомуникационната компания изгради 6 станции, които покриват всички манастири в Атон. Мрежата ще се захранва със слънчева енергия.
Атон е автономна монашеска общност под гръцки суверенитет и седалище на 20 православни манастира. Духовно е подчинена директно на Цариградската патриаршия в Истанбул. Обитаването на полуострова е разрешено само на монасите и общото население е около 1400 души.

Три манастира и един скит вече работят по специален проект, който предвижда електронното описване на най-важните ръкописи, стенописи, икони и други ценности на Света Гора. 10% от тях ще бъдат общодостъпни в интернет, а останалите ще бъдат достъпни за специалисти и за самите манастири



Mount Athos is situated in the entire third, eastern and most beautiful peninsula of Halkidiki, called the peninsula of Athos. It is the only place in Greece that is completely dedicated to prayer and worship of God.

For this reason, it is called the Holy Mount.

The Holy Mount is about 50 Km in length, 8 to 12 Km in width and it covers an area of about 350 square kilometres.

The borders of the monasterial city are defined on the ground by an imaginary line that starts from the location "FRAGOKASTRO" in the West coast and reaches the cape "ARAPIS" in the opposite end.

The natural beauty of the peninsula is extraordinary. The highest point of Mount Athos is like a huge cone, reaching 2033 metres in height. It’s a naked, treeless crest that seems to lance the sky and its slopes are fully covered by ancient evergreens. All these help to create an area of incomparable natural beauty.
Political Situation

The Holy Mount is a self- governed part of the Greek state, subject to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in its political aspect and to the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinopole as regards its religious aspect.

It has been divided into twenty self- governed territories. Each territory consists of a cardinal monastery and some other monastic establishments that surround it (cloisters, cells, cottages, seats, hermitages).

All the monasteries are communes (of a convent nature) which means that there is common liturgy, prayer, housing, nourishing and work among the monks. The Superior of the monastery, being elected by the monks for life, is responsible for the affairs of the monastery. The Superiors of the monasteries are members of the Holy Assembly and exercise legislative authority.

Moreover, every year the monastery elects its representative to the Holy Community which exercises administrative authority, while the Holy Supervision exercises executive authority and consists of 4 members, elected by the 5 hierarchically preceding monasteries.


About sooteris kyritsis

Job title: (f)PHELLOW OF SOPHIA Profession: RESEARCHER Company: ANTHROOPISMOS Favorite quote: "ITS TIME FOR KOSMOPOLITANS(=HELLINES) TO FLY IN SPACE." Interested in: Activity Partners, Friends Fashion: Classic Humor: Friendly Places lived: EN THE HIGHLANDS OF KOSMOS THROUGH THE DARKNESS OF AMENTHE
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.